Back to the top


TenchoO is a UK hip hop artist originating from South London now based on the south coast.

Discovering hip hop in the mid 90s whilst growing up in the city shaped his approach to being an MC in terms of subject matter, flow and character.

He started performing locally in 2003, frequenting open mics and battles on the way to developing a reputation as a legitimate lyricist. TenchoO was a member of several crews for a number of years, eventually emerging as a solo artist in 2007.

In 2008 he released his first solo project “The Promo EP” through free download; although it was well received locally, he felt that he needed to take drastic measures to promote himself as an MC and gain wider recognition. That opportunity arose when he re-visited the battle arena by entering the Don’t Flop battle league and quickly gained a name for himself as a fearsome battle rapper, loved for his technical rhymes and comic approach and to this day he remains undefeated in the league. TenchoO has a string of titles to his name, including the Don’t Flop 2010 doubles tournament winner (along with partner Lego), Battle Scars 2010, End of the Weak UK 2011 and JumpOff 2012 champion.

In 2011 TenchoO released his first LP Scary Movie to critical acclaim. With the entire album produced by long-time friend and in-house beat maker Haji, it is a fusion of real life experiences with complex rhymes and metaphors expressed through a variety of flows. Released through First Son records, the album had a good reception from the underground scene. His 2016 EP “Panic Room 9” released on Starch Records was also well-received with production duo Ill Move Sporadic (AKA Oneboss & Ben81) creating the soundscape for TenchoO to obliterate the mic booth. It was also the first vinyl project TenchoO had ever released signalling a milestone in his career. The project featured Sleaford Mods on “Who’s On The One” & got several spins on BBC Radio 6 Music by Gideon Coe & Lauren Laverne.

His sophomore full-length album “Live From The Crojo” is due for release in January 2019.